AAUASU Presents Prizes to Winners of Sampraise Poetry Competition

The Students’ Union leaders of Adekunle Ajasin University, has presented cash prizes to the winners of the maiden poetry competition in honour of late Adesomoju Samuel.

The three winners who emerged out of a pool of entries were award cash prizes at the Students’ Union Building of the school.

According to Tolulope Adeyefa, the General Secretary of the Union, the poetry competition was to promote creativity among students, while immortalizing late Sampraise.

Recall that Sampraise, a former president of Adekunle Ajasin University Students’ Union was one of the victims of the January 23, 2021 ghastly accident.

The competition received over 100 entries from undergraduates students across all faculties and levels in the University. However, three students among the contestants emerged winners of the prizes.

The winners are Omolasoye Adebowale, Winner N40,000, 300 Level Faculty of Law; Roland Bayode, First Runner Up N20,000, 400 Department of Mass Communication and Akinbani Moses, Second Runner Up N10,000, 100 level Faculty of Law.

After the presentation of the cash prizes, Tolulope Adeyefa, appreciated the individuals and brands that supported the initiative.

“At this juncture, I want to sincerely appreciate individuals and brand who supported the initiative to become one huge success for us during the course of serving over 21,000 Students of Adekunle Ajasin University.

“Prominent to mention is Comrade Oti Oluwaseun(Director of Project, Monitoring and Evaluation, NAUS Ondo State CMC) and the leadership of National Association of University Students (NAUS) Ondo State CMC, under Comrade Joel O. Taiwo (Joelistic Joel), Hon. Olayemi Adeyemi(MHA Owo Const. 1, ODHA), Mr. Adebowale Temitope Don Richy(former AAUASU Senate President) and Lynx Exchange, who contributed immensely to our huge success.”

He added certificates will be presented to winners at the Union’s week.

“The presentation of prizes which held today at the Students’ Union Building was initially planned to feature the first Memorial Lecture organized by the Students’ Union. However, winners in the competition will be awarded certificates at the Students’ Union week, bid to hold by second semester.

“We remain committed to the service of the students, promotion of their welfare and enhance creativity among them, towards building a 21st century Students’ Union we can all be proud to call our own,” he said.

See photos below:


Total Views: 1175 ,


  • Oluwatosin Ologun

    Oluwatosin Ologun fondly called Jahworthy, is a computer scientist and a trained broadcaster with deep interest in media and tech.
    The graphic designer cum passionate volunteer is on the journey of amplifying the good in the world, without ignoring the bad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *