AAUA Alumni Selected for Mandela Washington Fellowship

An Alumnus of Mass Communication Department, Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko, Saheed Ibrahim has been selected for 2023 Mandela Washington Fellowship (MWF) holding in the United States of America.
The Mandela Washington Fellowship for Young African Leaders is the flagship program of the U.S. Government’s Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI) for Fellows, between the ages of 25 and 35, who are accomplished innovators and leaders in their communities and countries.
Ibrahim, an Education Page Editor at Owena Press Limited, the Publisher of Hope Newspaper Akure will join 55 other young Nigerian leaders rigorously scrutinized and selected out of 10,264 applications received for the fellowship, starting from June.
The Ondo NUJ Investigative Reporter and Best Print Journalist of the Year 2022 will be trained in ‘Leadership in Public Management’ Track at Syracuse University, New York for six weeks before joining other African fellows and American leaders at the YALI Summit in Washington DC.
Prior to his selection, Ibrahim is a YALI West Africa Regional Leadership Centre (Ghana) Alumnus and immediate past Coordinator of YALI Network Ondo State, making him a member of the three pillars of YALI, which are YALI Network, YALI RLC and MWF.
He was the Outreach Committee Chairman for Students for Sensible Drug Policy (SSDP) Nigeria, alumnus of Dice Mentorship Programme (DMP), former Assistant Media officer and Secretary of Women on Assignment for the Less Privileged and has volunteered for Rural Nurture Initiative.
At Owena Press, Ibrahim has trained and mentored over 300 interns. He is a career/leadership/life coach and has delivered several lectures and trainings to motivate and mentor many young people.


Total Views: 91437 ,


  • Agbelusi Samuel

    Agbelusi Samuel is a campus journalist, writer, red carpet host, political and sport analyst. A political science student that covers news and politics beats for AAUA INSIDER.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *